I am here to stay

here to stayItaly-iconI am aware it does not look like, considering how little I posted in the last year, but I am here – in this blog – to stay. Even if. Even if I need to remind it to myself. Even if I need a big paper installation by Yenn Ang for doing so. Alas, luckily I can always trust the inspirational power of art for going back to my basics!

Of course, meanwhile a few things have happened.

E18

Issue 18 of Elephant is finally out, featuring two uber-inspiring interviews I did last winter. I was lucky enough to interview Monica Canilao, an artist already featured in the blog and whom I adore for her original, poetic and unconventional art. You can see the printed article here.

And I also discovered the amazing watercolours by eX de Medici, an artist that transformed her experience as tattooist into a drive for artworks meticulously delicate and powerfully assertive altogether. You can see the printed article here.

brushA few days left before the book  I co-authored together with Marc Valli A Brush with the Real (Figurative Painting Today) is out, published by Laurence King Publishing. It has been a two-years long project that has taken the shape of a richly and beautifully illustrated investigation into the contemporary aliveness of the oldest traditional artistic medium (painting) in its more traditional form (figurative). Featuring 51 contemporary painters, the book tries to reveal how figurative painting is still alive and kicking!

Yes, I am doing a bit of self-promotion here, but only because I am proud and honoured to be able to work with a ‘material’ like art. I feel lucky.

Italy-icon

Leave a Reply

